Stuff I’m Reading – June 2016

I have not had much time to write blog posts lately. There are several that I have wanted to write. I wanted to write one about Muhammad Ali and about the NBA Finals. I also recently watched the movie Spotlight, which was amazing and had me thinking a lot about the Evangelical Industrial Complex. Hopefully I will get time to write a couple over the next month.

Best Article of the Month.

Can We Still Weep Together After Orlando?

by Russell Moore at TIME

“When we’re accustomed to seeing news in real time on our television screens and on our phones, it is sometimes easy to forget that the news we are viewing is real. At least 50 people—created in the image of God—were slaughtered in cold blood. Families who were waiting to see their loved ones are finding out that they will never see them again in this life. That ought to drive us to mourn.”

Other Great Articles.

The Best Writing About Mohammad Ali

by Joe DeLessio and Eric Barbera at New York

“Muhammad Ali was the greatest boxer of all-time, and he also inspired some of the best sports writing ever, from the likes of Norman Mailer, Hunter S. Thompson, and George Plimpton. Some of the best pieces about Ali aren’t available online, but many are. Here, a required reading list in the wake of Ali’s passing.”

Why Christian’s SHould Reject the Vocabulary of ‘Short Term Missions’

by Joseph Sundeat Acton Institute

““We don’t have short term Social Workers, or short term Bio-Scientists,” Greenfield writes, “We don’t have short term Gastro-enterologists or short term Politicians. So why…do we have short term Missionaries in ever-increasing numbers?””

The Chilling Affect of Fear at America’s Colleges

by Jonathan R. Cole at The Atlantic

“Many of the young adults at highly selective colleges and universities have been forced to follow a straight and narrow path, never deviating from it because of a passion unrelated to school work, and have not been allowed, therefore, to live what many would consider a normal childhood—to play, to learn by doing, to challenge their teachers, to make mistakes. Their families and their network of friends and social peers have placed extreme pressure on them to achieve, or win in a zero-sum game with their own friends. While it’s difficult to assess the cases, and while myriad factors likely contribute to the poor mental health among college students, in 2015 roughly 18 percent of undergraduates reported being diagnosed or treated for anxiety in the past year, according to the American College Health Association’s 2015 annual survey; the rate was 15 percent for depression. Many are taking anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medication upon entry into college.”

Michael Phelps’ Final Turn

by Wayne Drehs at Sports Illustrated

“In treatment, Phelps earned the nickname Preacher Mike because each day began with a chapter of “The Purpose Driven Life,” a book given to him by former Baltimore Ravens linebacker and good friend Ray Lewis. Phelps shared the lessons of each day’s reading with other patients. He opened up to his therapist and other patients about his struggles with his father, his vicious fights with Bowman and the challenges of handling fame. One day, he confessed that he had long seen himself as the “bring the family back together” baby. His therapist’s response: “Well, you failed. How does that feel?” In time, Phelps came to realize that all those snake nightmares followed some sort of conflict, conversation or thought involving his father.”

McDonald’s As Social Enterprise: Capitalism’s Community Center

by Joseph Sunde

“I only wish that such movements would appreciate the broader range of possible solutions. The slow and local is all well and good, but something as mundane and mainstream as a local McDonald’s can serve community needs just as well as the trendy mom-and-pops of the future. The big and global is not necessarily the enemy of the small and local.”

If The Church Were A Haven

By Wesley Hill at First Things

“Clubs like Pulse have never been my scene, but I have an inkling of what they mean to my tribe. As a gay man myself, albeit a celibate one owing to my Christian ethical convictions, I know my own feeling of relief and calm when I’m with my gay friends. I can breathe more evenly and let go of some of my self-consciousness. In their company, I can assume so much shared history, and I can count on empathy. A couple of years ago, some of my gay and lesbian friends, whom I rarely get to see in one place, gathered in the dining room of my house for a dinner that stretched into the night. I recall the sheer joy of that evening. I hadn’t relaxed so fully or laughed so freely in a long time. I imagine the feeling was not dissimilar to what drew those dancers to Pulse in Orlando on that horrific Saturday night before the bullets started flying.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

